Disable Backup and Remove VM from Existing Recovery Service Vault

Disable Backup and Remove VM from Existing Recovery Service Vault

Azure VMs may only be assigned a single Recovery Services Vault (RSV) at a time for native Azure VM backups. To allow Nerdio Manager to manage these backups for you, any existing Azure backup policies for the dedicated image creation VMs must be stopped and then deleted.

To disable and remove the RSV associated with a VM:

  1. In Nerdio Manager, navigate to Desktop Images.

  2. Select the image's name.

    The Azure portal is launched to the VM's page.

  3. In the blade on the left side, in the Operations section, select Backup.

  4. If backups are enabled, you are presented with the backup's detailed information.

    Note: By default, Recovery Services Vaults have the Soft Delete feature enabled. This prevents backup data from being "Fully" deleted (purged) from Azure for 14 days, and causes an error when attempting to disassociate the VM from the RSV since there are still resources (the backup data) linked with the VM and RSV. You must temporarily disable Soft Delete in order to do this before the 14 day period. See this Microsoft article for details.

  5. In the blade on the left side, select Properties.

  6. In the Security Settings section, select Update.

  7. In the Soft Delete section, select Disable.

  8. Navigate to the VM's page again.

  9. In the blade on the left side, in the Operations section, select Backup.

  10. Select Stop Backup.

  11. Once the backup is stopped, select Delete backup data.

    The backup is completely removed.

    Note: If so desired, you can enable Soft Delete once again.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments (0 comments)

Article is closed for comments.