Personal Host Pool User Self-Service

Personal Host Pool User Self-Service

The Advanced Features described below are only available in the Nerdio Manager Premium edition.

Configure Host Pool User Self-Service Settings

Nerdio Manager allows you to configure which self-service functions a user can perform on their personal host pool. This includes starting, restarting, or stopping their desktop, and more.

For example, the user would be able to perform a resize, re-image, restore, and power on.

To configure personal host pool user self-service options:

  1. Locate the personal host pool you wish to work with.
  2. From the action menu, select PropertiesUser Self-Service.

  3. Enter the following information:

    • Standard Features: Configure the following standard features:

      • Allow Users to Start their Desktops: Select this option to allow users to start their desktops.

      • Allow Users to Restart their Desktops: Select this option to allow users to restart their desktops.

      • Allow Users to Stop their Desktops: Select this option to allow users to stop their desktops.

    • Premium Features: Configure the following premium features:

      • Allow end users to Resize desktop: Select this option to allow users to resize their desktop.

        Note: You may select allowed size(s) for resizing VMs and/or disks. Alternatively, leave any resizing option blank to disable the resizing option.

        • Allowed VM sizes: From the drop-down list, select the desktop size(s) the user may select when resizing the VM.

        • Allowed disk sizes: From the drop-down list, select the disk size(s) the user may select when resizing the disk.

      • Restore desktops to their original size after: Select this option to force desktops that were resized by end users to revert to their original size after a specified time.

        • From the drop-down list, select Days or Hours. In addition, type the number of days or hours.

          Note: The end user sees the following message:

      • Allow end users to Re-image desktop: Select this option to allow users to re-image their desktop.
        • Allowed desktop images: From the drop-down list, select the desktop image(s) the user may select when re-imaging the desktop.

      • Allow end users to Restore desktop: Select this option to allow users to restore their desktop.

        Note: Backup on this host pool must be enabled in order to select this option.

        • From the drop-down list, select the recovery point the user can use.

          Note:

          • Instant restore only: The user can only restore from the last recovery point.

          • All recovery points: The user can select the desired recovery point from all the available recovery points.

      • Allow end users to Run Scripted Actions on desktop: Select this option to allow users to run scripted actions or scripted action groups on their desktop.

        • From the drop-down list, select the scripted actions or scripted action groups the user can run.

      • Allow end users to Install UAM Apps on desktop: Select this option to allow users to install UAM apps on their desktop.

        • From the drop-down list, select the UAM apps the user can install.

      • Allow end users to Update Tags of desktop: Select this option to allow users to update tags of their desktop.

        • Type the Name and Value of the Azure tags the user can use.

          Notes:

          • You may specify multiple tags.

          • Leave the Value empty to allow end users to change the value.

          • Select to allow end users to add and update tag values.

          • Select to allow end users to delete the tag.

      • Allow end users to Disable auto-scale: Select this option to allow users to exclude their desktop from scheduled auto-scale activities for the specified duration.

        Note: This can be useful for users who perform batch operations or for developers.

        • Type the Maximum duration (days), from 1-30, that the user can suspend the auto-scale activities.

      • Show notifications: Select this option to and then type the notification to appear on the self-service portal for all the session hosts in the host pool.

        Note: The notification appears on the self-service portal until it is removed here.

  4. Once you have entered all the desired information, select Save or Save & close.

Manage Host Pool User Self-Service Global Settings

Nerdio Manager allows you to manage user self-service global settings such as changing the self-service portal's logo or global notifications.

To manage personal host pool user self-service global settings:

  1. Navigate to SettingsNerdio environment.

  2. In the User self-service portal (global settings) tile, select any of the following options:

    • Change logo: Select this option and then select the desired logo that appears in the self-service portal.

    • Change notifications: Select this option and then type the notification to appear on the self-service portal for all the session hosts in all the host pools.

      Note: The notification appears on the self-service portal until it is removed here.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments (0 comments)

Please sign in to leave a comment.